Sunday Panel: Switching Back to School Mode

What are your best tips for managing the switch over from relaxing summer back to hectic school year (packing lunches, waking up early again, professional wardrobe)?Sunday Panel Sticky

profile pic2

Tara, Science in the City:  It is a tough transition, no matter what. To me, the most helpful thing that I can do is to make some meals ahead of time and freeze. (Now that I think about it, I think I wrote a post on this a while ago). I also think it helps to spend 10 minutes on the weekend and look at the upcoming week — what meals need to be quick or crock pot meals, what days do we need to bring something out of the ordinary somewhere. Get organized before the week starts.
 
OC_BEACH_TEACHER_revised_finalKimberly, OC Beach Teacher: Switching back to the craziness of the school year is very challenging to me. I miss the relaxation of summer with less constraints on my time. However, since I live near the beach, I will sometimes take afternoon walks on the beach at the beginning of the school year. Usually the weather is fantastic- low humidity and in the 70s. Often, those short walks on the beach help me keep perspective and not get as overwhelmed by the hectic start to the school year!
 
Square image1Mrs. E Teaches Math: I am such a night owl, so getting up early is a shock to my system! I actually “practice” getting up early. About a week before school starts I begin getting up a little earlier every day. I also try to do as much to prepare for the week on Sunday. I make lunches and iron clothes on Sunday night to relieve a little stress during the week. Also, the crock pot can be your best friend! Find a few recipes that you like and plan on eating crock pot meals during the first week of school, until you get back in the swing of things.
 
Square image1Christina, The Daring English Teacher: Switching from summer to school can be a difficult transition. It usually takes me a week or two to get used to the change. To help me ease into the first weeks of school, I make sure that I have everything packed and ready to go the night before. I pack my teacher bag, my lunch, and make sure that I’ve emailed files from my home computer to my school email that I will need for the next day.
 
LanguageArtsClassroomLauralee,The Language Arts Classroom: “I have to practice! When I had kids, I included them in the practice round.
I would even go into work and clean around my classroom or pick up for a bit and then head home. Actually getting up was what I needed to do. If I had “”winged”” it the first day, I may have been late!”

What are your best tips for managing the switch over from relaxing summer back to hectic school year (packing lunches, waking up early again, professional wardrobe)?

One thought on “Sunday Panel: Switching Back to School Mode

  1. I definitely believe organization is the key as well. I get excited for back to school season, so I take advantage. This year I was able to walk into our first in-service day with. U first unit plan, long term plan, and three weeks of lesson plans completed. I need to stay on top of things as I am the new department chair.

    My goal this year is to plan the next day’s outfit before I go to bed. I think that I would be a little bit too ambitious to say I want the entire week planned out, but this is something for me to work towards. Meal prep is also extremely beneficial.

    Christina, I noticed that you said you email your files. Do you not use Dropbox or Google Drive? Those programs have saved me a bit of time and mailbox space. 🙂

    Have a great year.

Join the conversation!

