Sunday Panel: Technology Classroom Management

Sunday Panel StickyHow do you handle classroom management issues when using technology?

profile pic2Tara, Science in the City: I try to keep a few things in mind:
-Make sure the lesson is engaging and the time limit is reasonable to keep kids focused
– Lay out expectations before starting to use any technology
– Don’t be afraid to take away the technology if it is an issue, but provide an alternate assignment.
– Allow a little bit of leeway, within reason, if work is getting competed. Some students really do work better with music through headphones, etc.
 
OC_BEACH_TEACHER_revised_finalKimberly, OC Beach Teacher: Unfortunately, Internet is not reliable in my school, and I’ve learned the hard way that I had better be prepared. Here’s an example: For the past few semesters I have required my students to complete an argumentative essay. They choose from approximately 20 topics and use our school’s online databases for their research. On a couple of occasions, the Internet connectivity has been unreliable; some students had access while others did not. This, of course, leads to lots of students complaining, playing games, and overwhelming me with their needs. Sadly, some teachers at my school have refused to do research anymore because they don’t want to deal with the management problems. However, this year I printed reliable articles on each topic before we started the essay. It’s not ideal because I do a lot of their work, but at least I can hand them research articles and continue the assignment!
 
new logo blogJackie,Room 213: It is such a battle to keep the kids off their phones. I discuss it with them on the very first day. We have a big debate about the pros and cons of having them in class and then we work together to come up with a fair terms of use. It doesn’t always work, but I can remind them that they made up the rules!
 
AlgebraSimplifiedIconDawn, Algebra Simplified: Edmodo has saved me many headaches when managing a class utilizing computers. Edmodo gives students a home base. When my students enter a computer lab, they don’t wait for directions. They log onto Edmodo and read their directions. Students hit a snag in the lesson; I can send a solution out to the class through Edmodo. A student’s opportunity to say I have nothing else to do is extremely limited when I have multiple extension opportunities posted on the class’s Edmodo page. I ❤ Edmodo!
 
CDickson Profile PicClair, High School English on a Shoestring Budget: My biggest challenges were access to technology as well as ability with technology. I never had the computer lab to myself and often had to share, which meant not enough computers. I would use teams and companion activities so if five students are on the comptuers, then the rest are working on a related companion activity. They could rotated as computers were available. Some classes I could trust to go to the lab with a pass, others I wouldn’t trust while watching them carefully, let alone out of sight, so I would have to have back-up plans and plans B, C, and D for working around access to technology. Flexibility and many possible plans made it work.
 
SPbuttonSpanish Plans: When using iPads, all students are assigned a specific iPad to use. That way if we find anything innappropriate, we can track it to the students who use that device. I also make sure to walk around as much as possible. By giving students clear instructions and an objective to achieve with the device, students are more likely to stay on task.

How do you handle classroom management issues when using technology?

Join the conversation!

