Sunday Panel: School Humor

Sunday Panel StickyShare a humorous story from your year.

profile pic2Tara, Science in the City: Guaranteed to make you laugh! As we were doing our fetal pig dissection, one of my students kept insisting that the pig was her “sister from another mister” and took this picture:sister  
 
OC_BEACH_TEACHER_revised_finalKimberly, OC Beach Teacher:This school year my students and I were having a discussion about a challenging poem. It was during our 5th period class, when the students are often tired, so sometimes they aren’t very involved. Fortunately, on this particular day, students were providing insightful comments. In response, I praised a student because he had “ratcheted up the discussion.” For about a minute, we continued our discussion, and then a girl raised her hand and asked, “Mrs. Patrick, did you just say “ratchet”? I said yes, and she giggled. Puzzled, I asked what was funny, and after a few more questions, I finally realized that they didn’t understand my meaning, to increase the level of discussion. They explained to me that the word meant a woman who was not attractive. In fact, a quick look at Urban Dictionary.com defines the slang ratchet as “A diva, mostly from urban cities and ghettos that has reason to believe she is every man’s eye candy. Unfortunately, she’s wrong.” Of course, I had no idea of this new meaning. Needless to say, I learned a new word (they did too) and we all had a good laugh!

One thought on “Sunday Panel: School Humor

Join the conversation!

