Zumba – Sweat and Fun!

I’m not a competitive athlete, but I like to go to the gym and stay fit, which is getting more challenging every year! I’ve gone to many gym classes over the years including spin, yoga, Pilates, and kickboxing, but my new favorite is Zumba. And although Zumba classes gained popularity several years ago, I’ve recently become addicted. In high school (25 years ago), I enjoyed cheerleading and participating on the pom-pom dance team, but by the time I started Zumba, I had definitely lost my dancing abilities! At first I was very embarrassed to participate in Zumba class, but with a supportive instructor zumbainstructorand friendly classmates I soon got over my inhibitions and just decided to have fun! Our classes are diverse, with participants ranging from teenagers (including some of my students) to grandmothers.

Here is one of my favorite instructors, Amber.

Now, after months of classes, I’m remembering how to loosen up and practice the hip hop and salsa moves. Also, I’m enjoying modern music by artists such as Beyonce, Lady Gaga, and Robin Thicke. Besides working up a sweat, this helps me keep in-tune with my students 😉 Taking a class also reminds me what it feels like to be a student and how the best instructors use scaffolding (just a few new moves at a time) and modeling to help people learn. If you are ever looking for a fun work-out that burns lots of calories, I highly recommend giving Zumba a try!


OC_BEACH_TEACHER_revised_finalKim, the OCBeach Teacher,  is a National Board Certified English teacher who is currently teaching American Literature and AP English Literature and Composition.  She shares classroom ideas and tips on her OCBeachTeacher Facebook Page.
Full Bio

One thought on “Zumba – Sweat and Fun!

Join the conversation!

