Spring into Organization!

Plastic shoeboxes: a durable resource for classroom organization

 Now that Spring is here, it is time to do some spring cleaning. Often times we tidy our houses, but we forget to tidy our classrooms. Spring is the perfect time to tidy up our professional space, and plastic shoe boxes do just the trick
Since I teach secondary English, occasionally I have students create projects that require them to cut, glue, draw, and color. And because of this, I need to have scissors, glue sticks, rulers, colored pencils, markers, and crayons in my classroom.

I keep them organized in clear plastic shoe boxes. These shoeboxes provide many benefits: they stack nicely, they are durable, and you can see their contents. I also use similar boxes to organize my son’s playroom. I purchased these shoeboxes more than four years ago and they are still working great. I don’t think I will need to replace them for quite some time.

I have a built-in shelving system in my classroom. My white boards actually slide on this system and hide the contents within. All of the shoeboxes with the classroom supplies fit inside.

The shoeboxes keep all of the supplies organized, and they also make it easy to get the supplies ready for students to use. Generally, I like to have two boxes or markers and two boxes of crayons, that way I can place them in multiple places throughout the room for student access.

How do you organize your supplies?

Square image1Christina, The Daring English Teacher, is a high school English and journalism teacher in Southern California.
2 thoughts on “Spring into Organization!

  1. Great idea! I love the uniformity of it. For packets or copies I reuse, I found mailing boxes (such as from Staples) to work similarly. Stackable, organized, and inexpensive.

  2. I have done something similar with those small plastic drawers. However, this year, I plastic boxes (like shoeboxes) from Dollar tree….one for each table/group with scissors, markers, etc. I think it is helping the traffic in the room, and the distribution of materials…

Join the conversation!

