Ok, Old Man Winter, Enough is Enough!

march 26For many of us it has been a long, cold, snowy winter, the likes of which we haven’t seen in years.  I live on the east coast of Canada, where we are no stranger to snow and long winters, but this one is crazy!  Usually about this time of year, winter is in retreat.  The tulips are not out yet, but the promise is there, and we know that there will be no more snow days to let us get caught up on that never-ending pile of marking.  But not this year.  In fact, I have just had three days off from school in a row–that hasn’t happened in seventeen years (the year my middle son was born early, just days before a blizzard shut the province down for days).

 
 
 
IMG_8454

These are pictures I took on Wednesday and Thursday, when we were in the middle of getting a 50 cm dump of snow, snow that took all five of us hours to remove from the driveway.  The forecast, alas, is calling for another possible 50 cm by Wednesday.  They shut down school today, not because it was still storming, but because they couldn’t get the roads cleared in time.
 
 
IMG_8458My husband and I just took a walk around the neighborhood, and many of our neighbor’s houses are obscured behind banks of snow.   Sigh…spring seems like a long, long time away.  But, I know, like every winter past, it will melt and it will melt soon.  Before I know it I’ll be trying to keep the attention of a bunch of teenagers who can only think about prom and going to the beach, tough competition for Shakespeare!

sandys view

What will get me through til the snow melts?  I’ll be dreaming of the beach too.  I’m lucky enough to live in one of the most beautiful places on earth and get to spend my summers at this beach.  My kids are teens and they love to ignore me.  So, I’ll be lying on the beach, reading the stack of books I never get to read all winter.  Until then, I’ll keep my shovel close by.

I hope the tulips are blooming where you are!

new logo 3Jackie Cutcliffe (Room 213) teaches high school English in Prince Edward Island, Canada. You can follow her at Real Learning in Room 213

2 thoughts on “Ok, Old Man Winter, Enough is Enough!

  1. Oh my gosh, that is a lot of snow! I think we had the say storm since I live on the East Coast of Maryland, but our snow was nothing compared to yours! However, it only takes an inch or two to close our schools, so we had a snow day on Wednesday. I’m right there with you, Jackie, looking forward to summer beach days ahead; they can’t get here soon enough 🙂

Join the conversation!

